Reviews// Killzone 2

A true reflection of infantryman prose or not, these segments of rotten dialogue...

Posted 2 Feb 2009 17:06 by
Companies:
Games:
It's quite possibly fair to say that Killzone 2 carries more weight on its shoulders than any game before it. Gamers, critics and even the public are not really appraising this title simply on its merits as a first-person shooter, but as the saviour of the PlayStation 3. Perhaps LittleBigPlanet carried a similar degree of expectation as the key to turning around the fortunes of Sony's beleaguered third-generation console, but then, LBP didn't also shoulder the burden of years of hyperbolic visuals.

So, can Killzone 2 play Sony's Canute and hold back the seemingly relentless waves of former Playstation gamers and newcomers drifting toward the Wii and 360? To be blunt: no, not a chance. It's not a bad game by any chalk, in fact it represents the highest standards of video game production. Why it cannot alone save the PS3 is simple: Killzone 2 has to work doubly hard just to regain the trust of shooter fans after the original Killzone's bubble of hype burst, revealing a technically outstanding but soulless game. Even if it were blessed with following-up a sparkling dťbut title, this game is a first-person shooter: a genre that's fighting with driving games for the dubious acclaim as the most over-saturated.

So, let's forget about all this platform-saving bullshit. I'm going to review it as a game - albeit one that has some reparation to make and some very stiff competition from other franchises most beloved of the shooter fan.

For the uninitiated, the setting is hundreds of years into Earth's future. As the human race has reached out to new planetary systems, a faction known as The Helghast has risen against the ISA (International Strategic Alliance ) - the colonial coalition. The original game, released on PS2 in 2004, put the player in the trenches as an ISA soldier defending the planet Vekta from a Helghast invasion, bent on reclaiming the world they settled. The PSP's Killzone: Liberation continued the story, this time viewed in a third-person perspective, as the ISA took the battle from the cities and out to the hills, valleys and rivers of Vekta.

Killzone 2 sees the ISA take the offensive against the Helghast; bringing the fight to the enemy's door; the Helghast home world, Helghan. A stark departure from Vekta's lush vegetation and temperate climate, Helghan is a harsh world battered by high winds, electrical storms and toxic atmosphere. This chapter in the story explains why the devilish Helghast, with their menacing glowing eyes, are rarely seen without masks and breathing tubes having adapted to and embraced this hellish world. The ISA must fight on two fronts: against the Helghast and against Helghan itself.

The single-player campaign establishes the setting and introduces our player character, Sev, and his team mates: Alpha squad. We are aboard one of the ISA cruisers in the minutes leading up the attack.

Alpha squad comprises a pretty thick-skulled bunch of gung-ho Jarhead types, sporting some truly comical dialogue. Do US Marines really talk to one another like this? Answers in the Forum Ė but only from real marines, not from people who've just seen Jarhead!

A true reflection of infantryman prose or not, these segments of rotten dialogue - which, thankfully, do become more tolerable - establish the story and the method of its narrative. The game slips neatly between pre-set cut-scenes to gameplay, faultlessly delivering a continuous story from the moment your character steps from his sleeping quarters to the end of the first 'act'. It's only with the change of location that there's a break in the action and you see a loading screen, because, even during battle, the plot is told through your squad mates and radio communications.
-1- 2 3 4   next >>
Companies:
Games:

Read More Like This


Comments

Showing the 20 most recent comments. Read all 22.
config 2 Feb 2009 21:06
3/22
Thanks for the valuable comment ... but no game ever deserves a 10/10, and 11/10 is just stupid. *Every* game could be improved, hence not perfect, not 10/10.
Was p 3 Feb 2009 00:33
4/22
Haters here wrote:
this game is 11.10 stop hating!!!! Jesus all other revies have Killzone 2 as 11/10 yet you find falt! hate just hate

ps your forms make me so saad but not as sad as you!


11/10? Does know one at PSM check their fractions before posting? I think you'll find that's 1&1/10.

PS Roll on Thursday and the demo.
more comments below our sponsor's message
Was p 3 Feb 2009 18:16
5/22
Haters here wrote:
this game is 11.10 stop hating!!!! Jesus all other revies have Killzone 2 as 11/10 yet you find falt! hate just hate

ps your forms make me so saad but not as sad as you!


I was looking forward Killzone2, but now I realize that this moron, and his ilk, will be lurking online, waiting to vent noise and light brained insults into the multi player. If there isnít a quick and easy mute option, then the score needs knocked back four points, which in case heís reading this and straining with the maths thatís down from 11/10 to 33/55.

TimSpong 3 Feb 2009 19:01
6/22
Was p wrote:
I was looking forward Killzone2, but now I realize that this moron, and his ilk, will be lurking online, waiting to vent noise and light brained insults into the multi player. If there isnít a quick and easy mute option, then the score needs knocked back four points, which in case heís reading this and straining with the maths thatís down from 11/10 to 33/55


It must be later than I thought: I first read that as "this moron and his elk". Anyway, there is no getting away from the fact that people like him do exist. Thankfully they no longer inhabit the Whitehouse though.

Tim
Was p 4 Feb 2009 19:32
7/22
Play.com are taking Killzone pre orders at £29.99. Has anyone seen better?
OptimusP 5 Feb 2009 11:21
8/22
Was p wrote:
Play.com are taking Killzone pre orders at £29.99. Has anyone seen better?

God will sell his used copy for the promise that you don't commit any sins...for a year.
TimSpong 5 Feb 2009 11:34
9/22
OptimusP wrote:
God will sell his used copy for the promise that you don't commit any sins...for a year.


But don't be proud of yourself for doing so.

Oh, and don't covet Satan's Special Edition box-set.

Tim
Was p 5 Feb 2009 12:01
10/22
OptimusP wrote:

God will sell his used copy for the promise that you don't commit any sins...for a year.


Define sin in the context of this offer.
Was p 5 Feb 2009 12:09
11/22
Tim Smith wrote:


Oh, and don't covet Satan's Special Edition box-set.

Tim


What do you get in Satan's box-set? And is it worth the extra sacrifices? (As Iím short on chickens this month, and the pure first born are hard to come by.)
doi 22 Feb 2009 03:19
12/22
SPOnG, there have been numerous articles on co-op play.. They had originally planned to implement it as post DLC, but have recently said its impossible due to the massive graphical display.
PreciousRoi 24 Feb 2009 07:33
13/22
Saw the latest Killzone 2 advert tonight...they really need to get off Halo's jock yo...


"Killzone 2: War...Perfected" seems awfully similar to "Halo:Combat Evolved" to me, I mean they claim to have "more people in development than Microsoft and Nintendo" they can't come up with an original tag line? Its not even particularly good, even if it wasn't a blatant ripoff of Halo's.
OptimusP 24 Feb 2009 14:32
14/22
doi wrote:
SPOnG, there have been numerous articles on co-op play.. They had originally planned to implement it as post DLC, but have recently said its impossible due to the massive graphical display.

aka "we're lazy f**ktards and don't you people know standards have been dropping like bricks these last years, this is not the N64-era where everthing had four-player splitscreen. We're using a lot more powerfull hardware, don't you understand!!! Oh wait..."
Killian 24 Feb 2009 14:42
15/22
doi wrote:
SPOnG, there have been numerous articles on co-op play.. They had originally planned to implement it as post DLC, but have recently said its impossible due to the massive graphical display.


so what? still doesn't have coop in it and that makes it a big failing
SuperSaiyan4 26 Feb 2009 12:16
16/22
cell989 wrote:
Now this is what I call a review, nothing like that Sh** UGO website.


The ONLY game to deserve a 10/10 or higher which I have played is Halo: Combat Evolved that game was truely perfect in every way and the only thing lacking was what gamers wanted only when Xbox Live was released and that was Halo 1 online.

Halo was and still is one of the greatest shooters of all time, 10/10 for music, 10/10 for graphics, 10/10 for AI and 10/10 for gameplay.
OptimusP 26 Feb 2009 12:39
17/22
SuperSaiyan4 wrote:
cell989 wrote:
Now this is what I call a review, nothing like that Sh** UGO website.


The ONLY game to deserve a 10/10 or higher which I have played is Halo: Combat Evolved that game was truely perfect in every way and the only thing lacking was what gamers wanted only when Xbox Live was released and that was Halo 1 online.

Halo was and still is one of the greatest shooters of all time, 10/10 for music, 10/10 for graphics, 10/10 for AI and 10/10 for gameplay.

You've never played any kind of shooter from before 2001 have you...poor boy...don't worry, it's not your fault...well no, it is.
Here's a hint, don't try Quake Live, your brain might explode.
DrkStr 26 Feb 2009 14:19
18/22
SuperSaiyan4 wrote:
that game was truely perfect in every way

SuperSaiyan4 wrote:
the only thing lacking was what gamers wanted

Not perfect then, was it?
SuperSaiyan4 26 Feb 2009 16:57
19/22
DrkStr wrote:
SuperSaiyan4 wrote:
that game was truely perfect in every way

SuperSaiyan4 wrote:
the only thing lacking was what gamers wanted

Not perfect then, was it?


No read it again, when it was released it was PERFECT it still is however later on when Xbox Live came out gamers were after an update so they could take that perfect experience online but it never happend.

The game was not released whilst Xbox Live was out, Halo 1 was a launch title and the best launch title ever.
buck 7 Mar 2009 08:17
20/22
I wouldn't class 94 out of 100 hating. Good review, good game, looks great but COD 4 is more fun online.
SuperSaiyan4 9 Mar 2009 16:59
21/22
I have only played maybe 2hrs worth of KZ2 and I have to say the gameplay is not to my liking at all, also the controller is very offputting and overall the game feels like its trying to be something its not.

Halo games and Gears of war actually feel like shooter games, they have the right mechanics and everything about it feels right.

KZ2 I just cannot for the life of me get into that game, the graphics are very good but not mind blowing and I like how the audio comes out of my AMP as DTS.

I will be trading the game in this week hopefully God Of War 3 lives up to my expectations as I loved the second one.
headcasephil 9 Mar 2009 20:11
22/22
SuperSaiyan4 wrote:
I have only played maybe 2hrs worth of KZ2 and I have to say the gameplay is not to my liking at all, also the controller is very offputting and overall the game feels like its trying to be something its not.

Halo games and Gears of war actually feel like shooter games, they have the right mechanics and everything about it feels right.

KZ2 I just cannot for the life of me get into that game, the graphics are very good but not mind blowing and I like how the audio comes out of my AMP as DTS.

I will be trading the game in this week hopefully God Of War 3 lives up to my expectations as I loved the second one.

if you are wanting a good fps for the ps3 i would recommend ut3 or fear2 both of wich i feal are a hell of a lot better on the ps3 but killzone 2 was good but yes could have been a hell of a lot better if i was to give it a score out of 10 i would have to say 7 but iv gone back to playing ut3 and fear2 as so much better
Posting of new comments is now locked for this page.