Previews// Gears of War (Xbox 360)

Journalistic Deathmatch

Posted 3 Nov 2006 16:00 by


The addition of co-op, unlike many other examples, doesn?t feel like an option bolted on at the last moment. A ?Resuscitate? feature has been implemented that can also be used on NPC team-mates, which really helps strengthen that sense of team play. If a squad member takes too many slugs, he?ll become incapacitated, and it?s up to the surviving
members to provide aid. The multiplayer deathmatch modes also work superbly. I had a go with a mixture of fellow journos and Microsoft staff in a four-on-four team deathmatch, and the weapon balance and level design just felt right.

One feature, vital to success in all game modes, is the simple yet ingenious use of the A button. It?s used to aid your negotiation of the varied environments you?ll encounter. Pressed once and you?ll leap for cover. Hold it down while walking, and you?ll enter a crouching run move; crucial for traversing openings. Pressed while near a wall and you?ll take cover, or crouch beneath it. While in cover, press again and you can dart over to other forms of nearby cover. This button will be your key to success. Run around like a lunatic, and you won?t last long ? retaining cover and remaining in a tight unit with your team is vital.

Again, I shouldn?t be going overboard without spending a few days on it, but I can safely say that at this stage, this game is as good as, if not better, than the expectation surrounding it. If you?re one of those who people bought your 360 based on the expectations of GoW delivering come its release in the UK (November 17th), you can award yourself a satisfied grin right now.

Our full Gears of War review will follow next week, if we can manage to put the controller down long enough to type some words, that is.
<< prev    1 -2-

Read More Like This


Comments

SCiARA 3 Nov 2006 16:32
1/9
this is the game i bought the 360 for, roll on judgement day
hollywooda 3 Nov 2006 16:56
2/9
..........two weeks.........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
more comments below our sponsor's message
king skins 6 Nov 2006 13:24
3/9
SCiARA wrote:
this is the game i bought the 360 for, roll on judgement day


Shouldn't that me Emergence Day...?

Is it me or are pages 2, 3 & 4 all identical?

Also, there seams to be a few SPOnG people who are going to be buying this game. We should get a SPOnG forumites match going once it's released.
SCiARA 6 Nov 2006 13:56
4/9
king skins wrote:
SCiARA wrote:
this is the game i bought the 360 for, roll on judgement day


Shouldn't that me Emergence Day...?


that?s what MS are calling it yea, for me, its judgement day as I wont know how good it really is until I get my sweaty palms on it
king skins 14 Nov 2006 15:20
5/9
Where is the Review?
SCiARA 14 Nov 2006 15:26
6/9
the fiew reviews i've read so far are moaning of the short gameplay and crippled online play?
king skins 14 Nov 2006 17:09
7/9
SCiARA wrote:
the fiew reviews i've read so far are moaning of the short gameplay and crippled online play?


I want the SPOnG review tho. Lupos seams to think its "f**king incredible!!!" :)

And isn't the crippled online just complaining about not being able to play/cheat on ranked matches with your friends?

I was assuming that the game would still allow you to setup player matches that are not ranked like all the other live games...? Can anyone clarify this...? Oh and when are we getting a SPOnG review?
SCiARA 14 Nov 2006 17:14
8/9
GOW for me will be great, if its a short game then it means I get to complete it (I don?t get much time to play these days) rather than play until something else comes out, besides, 10 hours of game play will probably double in my inquisitive hands...

This is gonna be a busy week for me, I?ve got call of duty 3 and F.E.A.R coming this week from playasia and GOW at the end of the week.

360 is good
.
king skins 14 Nov 2006 17:23
9/9
FEAR is really really good. I was really enjoying that until my 360 died on me.
Posting of new comments is now locked for this page.